Skip to main content

Empty Homes Advice Service

Our Empty Homes Adviser is Frances Snee and she can be reached on 0344 515 1941 or email emptyhomes@shelter.org.uk.

What does the Empty Homes Advice Service do?

  • Provide empty homes advice to empty home owners, neighbours and organisations interested in empty homes work.
  • Make referrals to our network of local Empty Homes Officers working in Scotland's Local Authorities.
  • Follow up on empty homes reports and in some cases pursue empty homes case work in areas without a local empty homes service (to demonstrate what is possible)
  • Provide information on where empty homes grants and loans are available throughout the country and link into local Empty Homes Matchmaker Schemes.

Empty Homes Officer in your area?

Here are the contact details for councils that have asked to be listed on our website. If you don't see your area get in touch with the Empty Homes Adviser on 0344 515 1941 or emptyhomes@shelter.org.uk.

Council Contacts

Aberdeen City Council
Anu Kasim, Empty Homes Officer
01224 523614
emptyhomes@aberdeencity.gov.uk

Council

{{selectedCouncil.originalObject.council}}

Name: {{selectedCouncil.originalObject.name}}

Position: {{selectedCouncil.originalObject.position}}

Telephone: {{selectedCouncil.originalObject.phone}}

Email: {{selectedCouncil.originalObject.email}}

Aberdeenshire Council
Moira Simpson, Development Officer (Affordable Housing)
01467 533027
07801900906
emptyhomes@aberdeenshire.gov.uk
moira.simpson@aberdeenshire.gov.uk

Angus Council
emptyhomes@angus.gov.uk

Argyll & Bute Council
Kelly Ferns, Housing Improvement Officer - Empty Homes
01369 708672
Kelly.Ferns@argyll-bute.gov.uk

City of Edinburgh Council
Gillian Donohoe, Senior Housing Development Officer
0131 529 7660
Gillian.Donohoe@edinburgh.gov.uk

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar
Murdo MacLeod, Empty Homes Officer
07342 181064
murdoleo@cne-siar.gov.uk

Dumfries & Galloway Council
John Ringrose, Team Leader Empty Homes & Private Sector Housing
01387 273166
john.ringrose@dumgal.gov.uk

East Ayrshire Council
Liz King, Empty Homes Officer
01563 554583
Elizabeth.King@east-ayrshire.gov.uk

East Lothian Council
Anna Stewart, Housing Enabler
01620 827695
astewart@eastlothian.gov.uk

Falkirk Council
Elaine Hall, Empty Homes Officer  
01620 827403
Elaine.Hall@falkirk.gov.uk
eh@falkirk.gov.uk

Wendy Laird
Empty Homes/Buy Back Officer
Telephone: 01324 590387
wendy.laird@falkirk.gov.uk
eh@falkirk.gov.uk

Fife Council
Joanne Saurin, Housing Professional, Empty Homes
03451 555 555 ext 442893
emptyhomes@fife.gov.uk

Glasgow City Council
Alison McLavin, Empty Homes Officer
0141 287 1373
alison.mclavin@glasgow.gov.uk
EmptyHomes@glasgow.gov.uk

Anne McWilliam, Empty Homes Officer
0141 287 7994
anne.mcwilliam@glasgow.gov.uk
EmptyHomes@glasgow.gov.uk

Highland Council
Paula MacPherson, Housing Development Officer
01463 702 899
Paula.Macpherson@highland.gov.uk
empty.homes@highland.gov.uk

Inverclyde Council
Barbara Crichton, Empty Homes Officer
01475 714237
barbara.crichton@inverclyde.gov.uk

Moray Council
Trudi Lawrie, Empty Homes/Home Improvement Officer
01343 563507
0300 1234566
Trudi.Lawrie@moray.gov.uk

North Ayrshire Council
01294 324644
psadvice@north-ayrshire.gov.uk

North Lanarkshire Council
Alyson McGlone, Empty Homes Officer
01698 274131
McGloneA@northlan.gov.uk

Orkney Council
Post in recruitment, contact EHAS, details above

Perth & Kinross Council
Isobel Butt, Vacant Property Development Officer
01738 475955
ijbutt@pkc.gov.uk

Katrina Morrison, Vacant Property Development Assistant
01738 476561
KMMorrison@pkc.gov.uk

Renfrewshire Council
Karen Rae,  Empty Homes Officer
0141 618 6262
karen.rae@renfrewshire.gov.uk

Scottish Borders Council
Gareth Knox, Private Sector Grants Officer
01896 661 392
GKnox@scotborders.gcsx.gov.uk

South Ayrshire Council
Lesley Cockburn, Policy Officer
01292 616 014
lesley.cockburn@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

South Lanarkshire Council
Development & Private Sector Team
01698 454109
StratSupAdm@southlanarkshire.gov.uk

Stirling Council
Allyson Allison,  Empty Homes Officer
01786 237806
07464988645
allisonal@stirling.gov.uk

West Dunbartonshire Council
Karen Rae,  Empty Homes Officer
01389 737347
Karen.rae@west-dunbarton.gov.uk

West Lothian Council
Gillian Edwards, Planning and Coordination Officer
01506 281376
gillian.edwards@westlothian.gov.uk

Was this page helpful?

This feedback tool can't offer advice. If you still need help, please call our free housing helpline on 0808 800 4444

Would you recommend Shelter Scotland's website to a friend, colleague or family member?
(0 - not at all likely, 10 - extremely likely)

Your feedback is being submitted

Success! Thank you for your feedback.

If you'd like to hear more about our work at Shelter Scotland, you can sign up to receive updates on our campaigns page.

Sorry, there was a problem sending your feedback to us. Please try again or contact us via the website if this error persists.